Blog reviews, May 13, 2012

Today I’m starting a new feature on the blog: a review of today’s particularly good (in my opinion) posts on other blogs. I’ve been sending these reviews to my writer’s group (the Cochise Writers) for several months but decided to give them a wider audience. I’ve also added the blogs I read to our blog roll. There’s some great stuff out there and it deserves to be shared.

All right, then, let’s get right to it.

  • Joe Moore captures the heart of James Scott Bell’s story–Jump, and Figure Out What to Do When You’re Up There–on The Kill Zone: no matter what our comfort zone is in writing, sometimes to get the creative juices flowing we have to step outside of it, take a risk, and see what happens.
  • Every month, The Book Designer puts up all the cover art authors and artists have submitted. Some get awards (top listing and an award logo), some get critique comments (positive and, um, constructive), some are just shown, without comment. Interesting. You can see April’s (93!) submissions by clicking here.
  • Kim Weiland has been doing a series on The Secrets of Story Structure on her blog, WORDplay. In this final entry in the series, Pt. 12: Your Questions Answered, Kim responds to five questions from her readers. (Links to the previous entries in the series are at the end of the post.)

That’s all for today. I’ll do my best to make this a daily post, although I know there’ll be days I miss. When I do, I’ll try to catch up on the following days, unless I announce that I’m not going to.

And before I forget: HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!

Leave a Reply

