Mirror, Mirror

I looked in the mirror and for the first time in my life liked what I saw. My hair was a green and my skin was a dusky blue. The sleeves of my pink gown were mere black scarves dangling from a band of elastic around my upper arms. My skirts were a frothy gauze, thick and full and showing almost everything.

I wore a triangle of metal – glitzy and heavy – across my chest and it held a purple cape at the top that cascaded down my back.

For once my eyes looked huge and black and I painted on lavender lipstick with yellow dots across my lips. I clipped on gold shoes and tied gold flowers into my hair. And, feeling great, went off to the Star Trek party.

Where Judy arrived with nothing more than blinking lights in her hair, and still got all the attention.

2 comments on “Mirror, Mirror

  1. Cappy Love Hanson says:

    Don’t you hate it when that happens? The best costume party I ever went to was a folkdance party. A Star Wars Jawa showed up, short, cowled, with lights for eyes. Never spoke a word. No one knew who it was until the prize was awarded for the best costume, and she unmasked. That simple costume made her the belle of the ball.

Leave a Reply

