Writing, with Parrots – Part 2

Four little free-flying parrots violate the first

imperative of writing: create a situation quiet,

calm, and insulated. The youngest thumps

onto my desk like a feathered rock, rips up

an eraser, fat-foots the computer keys

until the monitor spasms and seizes up. While I

huff and run a finger down the manual’s index

toward Troubleshooting, she wriggles

down my blouse, punctuates my concentration

like a possessive apostrophe.

This, as the unattached male squabbles

like a fishwife with the pair over leftover brunch.

He lights on the back of my chair, drops a sticky

tidbit of waffle onto my white shirt, scrambles

after it. The other two land in my lap and wipe

their egg-smeared beaks on my clean jeans.

A sharp-shinned hawk cruises the wild-bird feeders

at the fence line, and the parrots scream, launch,

orbit like comets trailing colorful tails. Down the hall

they wing to who knows what mischief, perhaps

a tasty snack of closet molding, curtain cord, or,

in a moment of better taste, the delicate,

Bible-like pages of Neruda’s Twenty Love Poems

and a Song of Despair.

3 comments on “Writing, with Parrots – Part 2

  1. annette says:

    i love this, cappy.

  2. Joy Sue Ruterman says:

    Whew! and I thought having a yorkie jumping up and scraching at my leg, and getting into everything she can, was distracting. compared to your parrots I have it easy. We complain but we love them. Huh. JoySue

    • cappylove1211 says:

      Hey, how are you guys doing? Hope you’ll join our little blogging experiment with some posts of your own.

      Next writers’ group is Thursday at Sierra Vista library. See you there?

      Cappy

Leave a Reply

